Your data will be saved automatically. If you close the game during a play session, you'll be able to start again from the same place (as long as too much time has not passed.) Co-Op Battles cannot be restarted, so be careful.
If the game is forced-closed, there's a chance that you can lose some of your progress. Be careful when you're leaving the app running for extended periods.